CODEX

COVID-19 Data Exchange Platform

With the research data platform CODEX, a secure, expandable and interoperable platform for the provision of research data on Covid-19 is being established, connecting university hospitals nationwide. This is intended to make structured data of high quality available to the scientific community and to enable innovative evaluations.

The basis is the preliminary work of the Medical Informatics Initiative (MII) of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). The already established decentralized nationwide research data infrastructure via the data integration centers (DIC) of the MII will be supplemented by a central component for CODEX. For this central research data platform, the aim is to create a database from different data sources that is available as quickly as possible and meets the requirements of research ethics (FAIR principles) and the EU General Data Protection Regulation.

The CODEX project was launched in August 2020 and is a central component of the Network University Medicine (NUM), which is funded by the BMBF with 150 million euros. In the initial phase, the clinical research platform of the German Center for Cardiovascular Research (DZHK) will be used. In the 2021 expansion stage, the DIC of the MII will be used.

The cross-site platform will make complex Covid-19 research datasets including clinical data and biospecimen data from all German university hospitals available to researchers in a pseudonymized form. CODEX thus aims to contribute to a better understanding of the Covid-19 disease, to serve as a basis for policy decisions, and to advance the development of innovative and high-quality services and applications for healthcare institutions, citizens.

 

MIRACUM project partner

  • Technical University Dresden
  • University Hospital Frankfurt am Main
  • University Hospital Freiburg
  • University Hospital Gießen
  • University Hospital Mannheim

Publications

  • Gruendner et al.
  • Rosenau et al.

Further Information

MII Website – CODEX
NUM Website – CODEX

CODEX

COVID-19 Data Exchange Platform

Mit der Forschungsdatenplattform CODEX wird eine sichere, ausbaufähige und interoperable Plattform zur Bereitstellung von Forschungsdaten zu Covid-19 aufgebaut, die bundesweit Universitätskliniken verbindet. Damit sollen strukturierte Daten von hoher Qualität der wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft zur Verfügung gestellt und innovative Auswertungen ermöglicht werden.

Grundlage sind die Vorarbeiten der Medizininformatik-Initiative (MII) des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF). Die bereits etablierte dezentrale bundesweite Forschungsdateninfrastruktur über die Datenintegrationszentren (DIC) der MII soll um eine zentrale Komponente für CODEX ergänzt werden. Für diese zentrale Forschungsdatenplattform soll eine möglichst schnell verfügbare Datenbasis aus verschiedenen Datenquellen geschaffen werden, die den Anforderungen der Forschungsethik (FAIR-Prinzipien) und der EU-Datenschutzgrundverordnung entspricht.

Das Projekt CODEX startete im August 2020 und ist ein zentraler Bestandteil des Netzwerks Universitätsmedizin (NUM), das vom BMBF mit 150 Millionen Euro gefördert wird. In der Anfangsphase wird die klinische Forschungsplattform des Deutschen Zentrums für Herz-Kreislauf-Forschung (DZHK) genutzt. In der Ausbaustufe 2021 wird das DIC des MII zum Einsatz kommen.

Die standortübergreifende Plattform wird komplexe Covid-19-Forschungsdatensätze mit klinischen Daten und Bioprobendaten aus allen deutschen Universitätskliniken in pseudonymisierter Form für Forscher zur Verfügung stellen. CODEX will damit zu einem besseren Verständnis der Covid-19-Erkrankung beitragen, als Grundlage für politische Entscheidungen dienen und die Entwicklung innovativer und hochwertiger Dienste und Anwendungen für Gesundheitseinrichtungen vorantreiben.

MIRACUM Projektpartner

  • Technische Universität Dresden
  • Universitätsklinikum Frankfurt am Main
  • Universitätsklinikum Freiburg
  • Universitätsklinikum Gießen
  • Universitätsklinikum Mannheim

Publikationen

  • Gruendner et al.
  • Rosenau et al.

Weitere Informationen

MII Webseite – CODEX
NUM Webseite – CODEX