CDS2USE

Prospective User-Centered Design of Clinical Decision Support Systems in the Context of Personalized Medicine

About the project

Clinical decision support systems in the context of personalised medicine are seen as having great potential. There are numerous studies showing that such systems can increase diagnostic accuracy, improve clinical outcomes, avoid errors caused by information deficiencies and improve physicians’ decisions through faster and more comprehensive access to relevant data. However, despite all the recent technological advances, many challenges remain: Research shows that clinical decision support systems are insufficiently accepted and used, for example, because physicians fear a reduction of their professional autonomy, users do not trust the system or the systems are not seen as suitable for the respective workflows. Furthermore, such systems can also be associated with unintended negative consequences (provocation of errors, generation of irrelevant alarms). This is mainly due to the fact that no systematic, user-centred development process is followed, which places the users with their tasks and their specific working environment in the centre of the development activities from the very beginning. Thus, successful implementation – in addition to the completeness and accuracy of the evidence base – also depends significantly on the user- and context-adapted design and the integration of the systems into everyday clinical work. The results of the junior research group CDS2USE should help to ensure that the innovative, intelligent solutions developed within the framework of MIRACUM are designed in a user-centred way in order to ensure the broad and sustainable use of such intelligent IT systems in everyday practice.


Goals

The CDS2USE junior research group pursues three scientific goals:

Goal 1: Develop algorithms for context-sensitive decision support:

A major challenge in the development of decision support systems is the provision and use of context-sensitive data, as the identification and delineation of different contexts in the medical field is largely unexplored. Therefore, algorithms of the medical informatics initiative are to be adapted, combined and supplemented in such a way that the systems are enabled to present the right (relevant) information, to the right person, at the right time, in the right (relevant) context. In doing so, competing factors and values that influence clinical decision-making must also be adequately considered.

Goal 2: Develop “intelligent explanation tools”/a transparent and comprehensible decision support:

Currently, existing concepts and approaches of human-computer interaction are not sufficient for the user to understand clinical decision support systems. Therefore, concepts are to be developed that present the results to the users in an explainable, transparent and comprehensible way and enable them to gain individual control over the system on the basis of “intelligent explanation tools” and thus to deal with “their” data in a confident manner.

Goal 3: Further develop existing evaluation methods for a fit to clinical decision support systems:

Numerous recommendations exist for user-adapted design and evaluation of interactive systems, but these do not take into account the specific medical context. Existing evaluation methods are therefore to be further developed and adapted or expanded for clinical decision support systems in the context of personalised medicine. In particular, both new methods for evaluation with regard to the comprehensibility of system proposals/results and new methods for testing intelligent visualisations that prepare the information from the complex data sets in a user-friendly way are to be developed.


Project schedule

Three work phases – set-up, implementation and generalization – are planned to achieve the goals:

Set-up phase (year 1-1.5):

Based on the state of the art in science and technology, requirements for the development of algorithms for context-sensitive decision support systems are specified, existing concepts for a transparent presentation of results are identified and possible evaluation methods for a user-centred system design are compiled. The work is closely linked to the MIRACUM use cases.

Implementation phase (years 1.5-3):

The results for the MIRACUM use cases developed in the set-up phase are continued, validated and iteratively refined or adapted. In addition, the results (concepts, methods, tools) are tested for new use cases.

Generalization phase (year 4-5):

The developed methods and tools are transferred and adapted for as many types of decision support systems as possible in the context of personalized medicine.

To achieve its goals, the junior research group places a systems engineering approach at the centre of its research, which takes equal account of the end user (human), the technology used (engineering) and the work processes (organization). In addition, the group conducts “participatory research” involving medical staff, patients and decision-makers (depending on the work in question) to ensure that the results produced take into account the actual needs and specific situation of the people directly affected.

 


Lead of the Junior Research Group

 

Dr. Brita Sedlmayr

Lead of the Junior Research Group CDS2USE
Institute for Medical Informatics and Biometry | Technical University Dresden – Medical Faculty Carl Gustav Carus

Contact

Website


Team

Ian-Christopher Jung (M. Sc.)
Research assistant

Contact

Katharina Schuler (M. Sc.)
Research assistant

Contact

Maria Zerlik (M. Sc.)
Research assistant

Contact


Publications

Journal publications

  • Sedlmayr B, Sedlmayr M, Kroll B, Prokosch HU, Gruendner J, Schüttler C. Improving Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Research of University Hospitals in Germany: Formative Usability Evaluation of the Codex-Feasibility Portal. ACI – Applied Clinical Informatics -accepted
  • Schüttler C, Prokosch HU, Sedlmayr M, Sedlmayr B. Evaluation of Three Feasibility Tools for Identifying Patient Data and Biospecimen Availability: Comparative Usability Study. JMIR Med Inform. 2021;9(7):e25531. Published 2021 Jul 21. doi:10.2196/25531

Conference papers

  • Sedlmayr B, Ahmadi N, Jung IC, Zerlik M, Sedlmayr M. Prospective user-friendly design of clinical decision support systems – first results of the Junior Research Group CDS2USE. Postervortrag auf der 66. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Medizinische Informatik, Biometrie und Epidemiologie e. V. (GMDS), 12. Jahreskongress der Technologie- und Methodenplattform für die vernetzte medizinische Forschung e. V. (TMF) 26. – 30.09.2021, Online, https://www.egms.de/static/en/meetings/gmds2021/21gmds047.shtml

Further Information

Presentations

  • Presentation MIRACUM Kolloquium (16.02.2021)
  • Presentation MIRACUM Symposium (16.07.2021)
  • Lecturer MIRACUM Summer School (13.10.2021)

News / Articles

CDS2USE

Prospektiv-nutzergerechte Gestaltung klinischer Entscheidungsunterstützungssysteme im Kontext personalisierter Medizin

Über das Projekt

Klinischen Entscheidungsunterstützungssystemen im Kontext personalisierter Medizin wird großes Potential zugesprochen. Es gibt zahlreiche Studien, die zeigen, dass solche Systeme die diagnostische Genauigkeit erhöhen, den klinischen Outcome verbessern, durch Informationsmängel bedingte Fehler vermeiden und die Entscheidungen von Ärzt:innen durch einen schnelleren und umfassenderen Zugriff auf relevante Daten verbessern können. Trotz aller technischen Fortschritte in jüngster Zeit bleiben jedoch viele Herausforderungen bestehen: Die Forschung zeigt, dass klinische Entscheidungsunterstützungssysteme nur unzureichend akzeptiert und genutzt werden, beispielsweise, weil Ärzt:innen eine Einschränkung ihrer beruflichen Autonomie befürchten, Anwender:innen dem System nicht vertrauen oder die Systeme als nicht passend für die jeweiligen Arbeitsabläufe angesehen werden. Darüber hinaus können solche Systeme auch mit unbeabsichtigten negativen Folgen (Provokation von Fehlern, Erzeugung irrelevanter Alarme) verbunden sein. Die Ursache hierfür liegt vor allem darin begründet, dass kein systematischer, nutzerzentrierter Entwicklungsprozess verfolgt wird, der die Nutzer:innen mit ihren Aufgaben und ihrer spezifischen Arbeitsumgebung von Anfang an in das Zentrum der Entwicklungsaktivitäten stellt. Somit hängt eine erfolgreiche Implementierung – neben der Vollständigkeit und Genauigkeit der Evidenzbasis – auch maßgeblich auch von der benutzer- und kontextangepassten Gestaltung und der Integration der Systeme in den klinischen Arbeitsalltag ab. Die Ergebnisse der Nachwuchsgruppe CDS2USE sollen dazu beitragen, dass die im Rahmen von MIRACUM entwickelten innovativen, intelligenten Lösungen nutzerzentriert gestaltet werden, um eine breite und nachhaltige Nutzung solch intelligenter IT-Systeme in der alltäglichen Praxis sicherzustellen.


Ziele

Die Nachwuchsgruppe CDS2USE verfolgt drei wissenschaftliche Ziele:

Ziel 1: Entwicklung von Algorithmen für eine kontextsensitive(re) Entscheidungsunterstützung:

Eine große Herausforderung bei der Entwicklung von Entscheidungsunterstützungssystemen ist die Bereitstellung und Verwendung kontextsensitiver Daten, da die Ermittlung und Abgrenzungen verschiedener Kontexte im medizinischen Bereich weitestgehend unerforscht sind. Daher sollen Algorithmen der Medizininformatik-Initiative so adaptiert, kombiniert und ergänzt werden, dass die Systeme befähigt werden, die richtigen (relevanten) Informationen, der richtigen Person, zur richtigen Zeit, im richtigen (relevanten) Kontext zu präsentieren. Hierbei müssen auch konkurrierende Faktoren und Werte, die Einfluss auf die klinische Entscheidungsfindung haben, angemessen berücksichtigt werden.

Ziel 2: Entwicklung „intelligenter Erklärungstools“/einer transparenten und nachvollziehbaren Entscheidungsunterstützung:

Aktuell sind vorhandene Konzepte und Ansätze der Mensch-Computer-Interaktion für den Nutzer nicht ausreichend, um klinische Entscheidungsunterstützungssysteme nachzuvollziehen. Daher sollen Konzepte entwickelt werden, die den Nutzer:innen die Ergebnisse in einer erklärbaren, transparenten und verständlichen Darstellung präsentieren und sie auf Basis „intelligenter Erklärungstools“ darin befähigen, individuelle Kontrolle über das System zu erhalten und somit souverän mit „ihren“ Daten umzugehen.

Ziel 3: Weiterentwicklung bestehender Evaluierungsmethoden für eine Passung auf klinische Entscheidungsunterstützungssysteme:

Für eine nutzerangepasste Gestaltung und Bewertung interaktiver Systeme existieren zahlreiche Empfehlungen, die jedoch nicht den spezifischen medizinischen Kontext berücksichtigen. Bestehende Evaluierungsmethoden sollen daher weiterentwickelt und für klinische Entscheidungsunterstützungssysteme im Kontext personalisierter Medizin angepasst bzw. erweitert werden. Insbesondere sollen sowohl neue Methoden für die Evaluierung bezüglich der Nachvollziehbarkeit der Systemvorschläge/-ergebnisse, als auch neue Methoden für die Testung intelligenter Visualisierungen, die die Informationen aus den komplexen Datenmengen nutzergerecht aufbereiten, entwickelt werden.


Projektverlauf

Zur Erreichung der Ziele sind drei Arbeitsphasen – Aufbau, Anwendung und Generalisierung – geplant:

Aufbauphase (Jahr 1-1,5):

Auf Basis des Standes der Wissenschaft und Technik werden Anforderungen für die Entwicklung von Algorithmen für kontextsensitive Entscheidungsunterstützungssysteme spezifiziert, existierende Konzepte für eine transparente Darstellung der Ergebnisse ermittelt und mögliche Evaluierungsmethoden für eine benutzerzentrierte Systemgestaltung zusammengetragen. Die Arbeiten erfolgen dabei eng verknüpft mit den MIRACUM Use Cases.

Anwendungsphase (Jahr 1,5-3):

Die in der Aufbauphase erarbeiteten Ergebnisse für die MIRACUM Use Cases werden weitergeführt, validiert und iterativ verfeinert bzw. angepasst. Darüber hinaus werden die Ergebnisse (Konzepte, Methoden, Werkzeuge) für neue Anwendungsfälle erprobt.

Generalisierungsphase (Jahr 4-5):

Die entwickelten Methoden und Werkzeuge werden für möglichst viele Arten von Entscheidungsunterstützungssystemen im Kontext personalisierter Medizin übertragen und angepasst.

Um ihre Ziele zu erreichen, stellt die Nachwuchsgruppe einen systemtechnischen Ansatz in den Mittelpunkt ihrer Forschung, der den Endnutzer (Mensch), die eingesetzte Technologie (Technik) und die Arbeitsprozesse (Organisation) gleichermaßen berücksichtigt. Zudem betreibt die Gruppe „partizipative Forschung“ unter Beteiligung von medizinischem Personal, Patient:innen und Entscheidungsträger:innen (in Abhängigkeit der jeweiligen Arbeiten), um sicherzustellen, dass die erarbeiten Ergebnisse die tatsächlichen Bedürfnisse und die spezifische Situation der jeweils direkt betroffenen Personen berücksichtigen.


Leitung der Nachwuchsforschergruppe

 

Dr. Brita Sedlmayr

Leiterin der Nachwuchsforschergruppe CDS2USE
Institut für Medizinische Informatik und Biometrie | Technische Universität Dresden – Medizinische Fakultät Carl Gustav Carus

Kontakt

Webseite


Team

Ian-Christopher Jung (M. Sc.)
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Kontakt

Katharina Schuler (M. Sc.)
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Kontakt

Maria Zerlik (M. Sc.)
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Kontakt


Publikationen

Journalpublikationen

  • Sedlmayr B, Sedlmayr M, Kroll B, Prokosch HU, Gruendner J, Schüttler C. Improving Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Research of University Hospitals in Germany: Formative Usability Evaluation of the Codex-Feasibility Portal. ACI – Applied Clinical Informatics -accepted
  • Schüttler C, Prokosch HU, Sedlmayr M, Sedlmayr B. Evaluation of Three Feasibility Tools for Identifying Patient Data and Biospecimen Availability: Comparative Usability Study. JMIR Med Inform. 2021;9(7):e25531. Published 2021 Jul 21. doi:10.2196/25531

Konferenzbeiträge

  • Sedlmayr B, Ahmadi N, Jung IC, Zerlik M, Sedlmayr M. Prospective user-friendly design of clinical decision support systems – first results of the Junior Research Group CDS2USE. Postervortrag auf der 66. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Medizinische Informatik, Biometrie und Epidemiologie e. V. (GMDS), 12. Jahreskongress der Technologie- und Methodenplattform für die vernetzte medizinische Forschung e. V. (TMF) 26. – 30.09.2021, Online, https://www.egms.de/static/en/meetings/gmds2021/21gmds047.shtml

Weitere Informationen

Vorträge

  • Vortrag im MIRACUM Kolloquium (16.02.2021)
  • Vortrag auf dem MIRACUM Symposium (16.07.2021)
  • Dozent*innen auf der MIRACUM Summer School (13.10.2021)

Newsmeldungen / Artikel